last revised September 14, 2016
(For links to other topically arranged guides, see below.)
Contents
Accounting
- FASB Pronouncements and EITF Abstracts (Financial Accounting Standards Board). Includes Statements of Financial Accounting Standards, Statements of Financial Accounting Concepts, and FASB Interpretations, Staff Positions andTechnical Bulletins. (EITF stands for Emerging Issues Task Force).
Admiralty
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Animal Law
Antitrust
Appellate Practice
Banking & Finance Law
Bankruptcy
Business Associations
Constitutional Law
Contracts
Criminal Law
Disabilities Law
Domestic Violence
Education Law
Elder Law
Election Law
Eminent Domain
Empirical Legal Studies
Employment Law
Environmental Law
- Avosetta Group. A group of lawyers " whose main purpose is to further the development of environmental law in the European Union and Member States." Site includes their proceedings and discussion papers.
- Climate Law Database, includes documents on enforcement of laws to combat climate change.
- Commission for Environmental Cooperation: Laws, Treaties, and Agreements - includes relevant agreements from throughout the Americas, and Summary of Environmental Law in North America, a detailed compilation of information on United States, Canadian, and Mexican environmental laws.
- Environmental Law (Rutgers Univ. Libraries)
- Environmental Law Net / David S. Blackmar, Esq. Links to federal and state laws and regulations, foreign laws, tribal law, federal and state agency documents and databases, compliance checklists, enforcement policies.
- Center for International Environmental Law A public-interest law firm. The site offers many discussion papers, working papers, and reports in PDF.
- ECOLEX Databases of references to treaties, softlaw documents, national legislation, court decisions, and secondary literature, searchable and browsable by subject, keyword, jurisdiction, date, and author. The legal instruments are also indexed by species and higher taxonomic groupings of fauna and flora. Site also includes extensive key to UN acronyms.
- Environmental Law Alliance Worldwide (E-LAW Includes texts of or links to selected national court opinions.
- IISD Reporting Services (International Institute for Sustainable Development). Includes the current issues and archives of Earth Negotiations Bulletin, a daily reporting service on environment and development negotiations, and links to official documents.
- United Nations Environment Programme (Geneva office)
Estate Planning
Expert Testimony
Family Law
Government Information
Health Law
Housing Law
Immigration Law
Intellectual Property
- Authors Guild v. Google Settlement Resources Page
- Bulk.resource.org: raw data from U.S. Copyright Office.
- Collection of National Copyright Laws (UNESCO)
- Copyright & Fair Use (Stanford Univ. Libraries)
- Copyright@AALL
- Copyright Information / Jeanne Boyle (Rutgers Univ. Libraries)
- Copyright Watch: copyright laws from all over the world.
- The Copyright Website / Benedict O'Mahoney
- Crash Course on Copyright (Univ.of Texas)
- Creative Commons Licenses
- Engelberg Center on Innovation Law & Policy (NYU School of Law)
- European Federation of Intellectual Property (includes searchable patent database)
- Generic Top Level Domain Name (gTLD) Decisions (at World Legal Information Institute)
- IP Law Book Review (Golden Gate Univ.)
- Information Policies: A Compilation of Position Statements, Principles,Statutes, and Other Pertinent Statements (at Coalition for Networked Infomation)
- James Boyle's I.P. Links
- NIPLI (National Intellectual Property Law Institute)
- OSLA Arts & Law Home Page (Ocean State Lawyers for the Arts)
- Federal Government: Copyrights, Patents & Trademarks /(Rutgers Univ. Libraries)
- The Patry Copyright Blog (William Patry)
- Prosecuting Intellectual Property Crimes Manual (U.S. Dep't of Justice)
- The Public Domain: Enclosing the Commons of the Mind by James Boyle. (Book available for free download.)
- The TEACH Act Toolkit (NCSU Libraries): resources on the Technology, Education and Copyright Harmonization (TEACH) Act of 2002.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office See especially the Search for Patents and Search Trademarks Database pages, which include searchable databases of patents and trademarks, as well as the Manual of Patent Classification, the Manual of Patent Examing Procedure, and the Trademark Manual of Goods and Services; and the Office of General Counsel page, which includes links to decisions of the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences and the Trademark Trial and Appeals Board.
- University of North Texas Libraries, subject guides on Copyright, Patents, and Trademarks
- Who Owns Native Culture? Prof. Michael F. Brown's supplemental materials to his book.
- World Intellectual Property Organization Their WIPO Lex includes treaties and national laws.
Internet Law
Jurisprudence / Legal Theory / Philosophy of Law
Land Use, Property & Zoning
Law and Economics
Legal Education
(see also our Law Schools and Lawyers page.)
Legal Ethics & Legal Profession
(see also our Law Schools and Lawyers page.)
Legal History
(See also our Legal History Pathfinder)
General & Miscellaneous
- The Avalon Project (at Yale): historic legal documents from ancient times to the 20th century
- Famous Trials (Doug Linder)
- Legal Classics Library (Hein Online) (Rutgers-restricted access) A searchable and browsable collection of about 1,500 works. The majority relate to Anglo-American law, but some works on ancient law and other legal systems are included.
- Medieval Legal History, in the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, Fordham Univ. (Paul Halsall, editor). Includes late Roman law, canon law, European and English law.
Ancient Law
Common Law
British Legal History
- The Anglo-American Legal Tradition: Documents from Medieval and Early Modern England from the National Archives in London (Univ. of Houston, O'Quinn Law Library). Includes English Legal History: A Statistical Overview by Prof. Robert C. Palmer.
- Bibliography on British and Irish Legal History (University of Wales Aberystwyth). Searchable (but not browsable) cumulation, to the late 1990's, of the bibliographies published in the Cambrian Law Review.
- Bracton Online: De Legibus et Consuetudinibus Angliae (On The Laws and Customs of England) (13th century)(at Harvard Law School Library)
- British History Online: Administrative and legal history. Includes Statutes of the Realm volumes 5 to 7; Acts & Ordinances of the Interregnum; various court records.
- English Legal History Materials by Prof. Robert C. Palmer, Univ.of Houston. (Note: these pages will eventually migrate to the Anglo-American Legal Tradition site listed supra.)
- English Medieval Legal Documents, AD 600 - AD 1535: A Compilation of Published Sources (by Hazel Lord, Univ. of Southern California Law Library) An extensive bibliography on all sources of medieval English law, including information on their online availability.
- English Reports Full Reprint (1220-1865) (Hein Online) (Rutgers restricted access)
- Equity Pleadings Database (National Archives, UK)
- Finding English Statutes & Cases & selected "books of authority" at the Rutgers-Newark Law Library
- Legal History: The Yearbooks, " Medieval English Legal History, An Index and Paraphrase of Printed Year Book Reports, 1268 - 1535, compiled by David J. Seipp (Seipp's Abridgement)"
- Magna Carta (at National Archives & Records Admin.) (includes translation & image of original)
- Parliament Rolls of Medieval England, 1275-1504 (Rutgers-restricted access)
- The Proceedings of the Old Bailey London, 1674 to 1834. Sometimes cited as the Old Bailey Sessions Papers (OBSP), these are accounts of criminal trials. The online version is elaborately indexed and fully searchable; the site includes an extensive bibliography.
- Sir Edward Coke Collection (Leon E. Bloch Law Library, University of Missouri). Includes Coke's Institutes and Reports.
American Legal History
Military Law
National Security
Native American Law
Nonprofit Organizations
Parliamentary Procedure
Privacy
- PrivacyLaw.net (by Keith P. Enright, Esq.). Includes material on Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Graham-Leach-Bliley Act.
- The Right to Privacy by Samuel Warren and Louis D. Brandeis, originally published at 4 Harvard Law Review 193 (1890).
Products Liability
Religion & Law
Canon Law
Islamic Law
Jewish Law
Securities Law
Sexuality & Law
- Casebook on Sexual Orientation and the Law "150 Edited American Appellate Cases Adjudicating Lesbian and Gay Rights Claims; Arranged by: Case Name, Court, Subject Matter, Year" (by Prof. Dan Pinello, John Jay College of Criminal Justice)
- GayLawNet An elaborate site, based in Australia but with coverage of USA, UK, Canada, and elsewhere. Includes FAQ, GayLawNews archive, attorney listings, many links to gay rights groups.
- Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund Includes national maps linked to state-by-state information on laws and bills about marriage and partnership, discrimination, and sodomy.
- Queer Legal Resources Includes case archives, state laws, & archive of Lesbian/Gay Law Notes.
- Same Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature compiled by Paul Axel-Lute
- The Williams Institute (UCLA School of Law) "The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy."
Social Security
Sports Law
Tax Law
Traffic Laws
Other Topical Guides:
