This is the "Home" page of the "Public Patron Guide to New Jersey Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Patron Guide to New Jersey Sources  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=702821 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Information & Resources

Contents

 

Introduction

The Rutgers Law Library -Newark exists to support the research and study needs of the students, faculty and staff of the Rutgers School of Law at Newark. Members of the public may use the resources of the Law Library to conduct legal research. Patrons without a Rutgers University identification card are requested to sign in at the Circulation Desk. The Library uses this registration information for statistical reports, collection development, circulation control, and to support applications for funding.

 

During most business hours a Reference Librarian is available at the first floor Reference Desk to direct you to sources that may help answer your questions. Patrons are reminded that because of the complicated nature of many legal problems, the services of a qualified attorney may be required. REFERENCE LIBRARIANS CANNOT PROVIDE PATRONS WITH LEGAL ADVICE OR HELP PATRONS MAKE DECISIONS REGARDING LEGAL RIGHTS AND LIABILITIES. THEY CANNOT INTERPRET STATUTES, CASES, OR ANY OTHER MATERIALS FOR PATRONS. If you need legal assistance that the Law Library cannot provide, you may want to contact the Legal Services of New Jersey Legal Hotline at 1-888-LSNJ-LAW (1-888-576-5529). This statewide legal hotline provides legal information, advice and referral to low-income residents of New Jersey with civil legal problems (criminal cases are referred).

 

Organization of Library Materials

The Rutgers Law Library -Newark uses the Library of Congress system to classify, catalog, and shelve materials in its collection. Location of materials by floor is:  

  1. First Floor - KF, NJREF, RESERVE, REFERENCE View Map
  2. Second Floor - KB-KE, KFA-KFZ, KG-KW, L-Z View Map
  3. Third Floor - A-JZ, K, KZ, HIST REF View Map

For more comprehensive or specific information regarding the location of library materials, please refer to the "Browser's Guide to Classification System" available at the Reference Desk.

Location information for specific library materials is also available from the online catalog terminals. Catalog terminals are located on the main floor of the library near the entrance doors, on the second floor near the stairway to the third floor, and on the third floor near the staircase. Until you are familiar with legal research methods and terms, a KEYWORDS search in the online catalog may be the quickest way to find materials.

For example, to find materials available in this library on the topic of conducting legal research in New Jersey, select KEYWORDS and type in "New Jersey Legal Research". Among the results will be four editions of this title: Axel-Lute, New Jersey Legal Research Handbook. Select EXTENDED DISPLAY to discover that the 1998 edition of this research tool is available at the Reference Desk (REF), on Reserve at the Circulation Desk (RESERVE), and at call number KFN1875 .A97 1998 (on the second floor). Alternatively, select SUBJECT and you will find other volumes in addition to the Axel-Lute title. Again, selecting EXTENDED DISPLAY will provide you with the information necessary to locate the title(s) in the library.

 

Basic Research Tools

Depending upon the complexity of your question, you may wish to consult the following resources to determine the precise legal terms used to describe your problem.

 

Legal Terms

Black's Law Dictionary

Black's provides definitions of the legal terms used in describing legal issues. On the first floor it is located on the counter between the Reference Desk and the Resume Computer. On the second floor it is on an easel on the counter near the third floor stairwell. It is also available from RESERVE.

American Jurisprudence 2d

Typically referred to as Am.Jur.2d, this is a multi-volume legal encyclopedia located on the first floor at call number KF154.A42.

Corpus Juris Secundum: A Complete Restatement of the Entire American Law by All Reported Cases

Commonly known as C.J.S., this is a multi-volume legal encyclopedia located on the first floor at call number KF154.C56.

Words & Phrases

This set of volumes provides the definitions given to words and phrases by both state and federal courts in specific cases. It is located on the first floor at call number KF156.W6712.

 

New Jersey Legal Research

You and the law in New Jersey : a resource guide
Patrons doing New Jersey legal research might want to consult this book early in the research process to familiarize themselves with New Jersey legal rights and resources. It is located on the first floor at NJREF & REF KFN1881 .M55 1998.

 

Legal Research Methods and Legal Writing

Materials on general legal research methods and strategies are catalogued in the area of call number KF240. Additionally, the following volumes are on Reserve at the Circulation Desk:


Basic Legal Research: Tools & Strategies, 2d ed., Sloan (RESERVE KF240.S66 2003)

Finding the Law, 11th ed. (RESERVE KF240.B45 1999)

How to Find the Law, 9th ed., Cohen, Berring & Olson (RESERVE KF240.H6 1989)

Legal Problem Solving, 4th ed., Rombauer (RESERVE KF240.R64 1983)

Legal Research: A Self-Teaching Guide, 2d ed., Hodes (KF240.H62 1988)

Legal Research and Writing: Some Starting Points, 4th ed. Statsky (RESERVE KF240.S783 1999)

Legal Research Illustrated, 8th ed., Mersky & Dunn (RESERVE KF240.M472 2002)

Legal Research in a Nutshell, 7th ed., Cohen & Olson (RESERVEKF240.C54 2000)

Legal Research Manual, 2d ed., Wren & Wren (RESERVE KF240.W7 1986)

Legal Research Survival Manual, Berring & Edinger (RESERVE KF240.B47 2002)

The Process of Legal Research, 5th ed., Kunz et als. (RESERVE KF240.P76 2000)

Patrons specifically researching New Jersey law will find most relevant materials in the New Jersey Reference Room on the first floor to the right of the Circulation Desk. New Jersey statutes, New Jersey case reporters, New Jersey case digests, New Jersey forms sets, and New Jersey Shepards, among other materials, are located together in this room to facilitate use by patrons doing New Jersey research. The New Jersey Administrative Code is on Reserve at the Circulation Desk. Duplicates of many materials are available, ask the Reference Librarian for assistance locating materials if you find a volume missing. The NJ Reference room is located on the first floor.

 

New Jersey Reference Room

Patrons specifically researching New Jersey law will find most relevant materials in the New Jersey Reference Room on the first floor to the right of the Circulation Desk. New Jersey statutes, New Jersey case reporters, New Jersey case digests, New Jersey forms sets, and New Jersey Shepards, among other materials, are located together in this room to facilitate use by patrons doing New Jersey research. The New Jersey Administrative Code is on Reserve at the Circulation Desk. Duplicates of many materials are available, ask the Reference Librarian for assistance locating materials if you find a volume missing.

 

Federal Materials

Federal statutes, case reporters, and the Code of Federal Regulations are located in the West Gallery on the first floor in rows 1 through 12. Related Shepards and case digests are shelved with or near the corresponding primary materials. Duplicates of many materials are available, ask the Reference Librarian for assistance locating materials if you find a volume missing.

 

State Materials

State-specific primary resources are located on the second floor at call numbers KFA-KFW, shelved alphabetically by state name. The materials for each state appear in this order: statutes, court rules, case reporters, case digests, and Shepards. However, except for California, no Shepards is available for states covered by the Pacific Reporter, for these states use the Pacific Shepards located on the first floor at call number KF135.P22 S5.

 

Government Documents

The Law Library is an official depository for certain federal and New Jersey government documents. Both federal and New Jersey documents collections are on the second floor. In addition to the Reference Librarian, Government Documents staff members are generally available during business hours to assist patrons in locating specific documents. The Documents Librarians’ offices are on the second floor overlooking the Atrium.

 

Periodicals

Bound periodicals are in the East Reading Gallery of the second floor; current issues are on Reserve at the Circulation Desk.

 

Basic New Jersey Sources by Topic


Five commonly researched areas of the law are identified below. Accompanying each is a list of basic sources (statutes, court rules, treatises, and form books) available on Reserve and in the New Jersey Reference Room. These lists are provided to facilitate beginning research on these subjects. Additional New Jersey materials are available on the second floor.

NOTE: THESE LISTS ARE NOT MEANT TO BE COMPLETE LISTS OF SOURCES. They are offered only to assist you in beginning your research.

Please remember: a case decided after the effective date of a statute or rule can modify the application of the statute or rule. A case can overturn or modify a previously decided case and can limit the application of a rule or statute.

Abbreviations used:

N.J.S.A. = New Jersey Statutes Annotated
R. = New Jersey Court Rule
et seq. = Latin for “and the following ones”

 

Corporations and Business Organizations

Statutes

Corporations, General, N.J.S.A. 14A:1 - 14:A:7 ( KFN 1830 1937.A42)
Corporations and Associations
Not for Profit, N.J.S.A. 15 to
Religious, N.J.S.A. 16 (KFN 18301937.A42)

Form Books & Treatises


New Jersey Business Corporation Act.... (KFN2013.A34 A196 1997)
New Jersey Business Organizations Law 2003 (RESERVE KFN2005.A29 N48 2003)
New Jersey Business Corporations, McKay, 2 vols. (RESERVE KFN2013.M33 1996)
New Jersey Corporate Forms Practice, Pachman & Conover, 2 vols.
(RESERVE KFN2013.A65 P33 1989)
New Jersey Corporation Handbook 1999, Frawley (KFN2013.Z9 F73 1999)
New Jersey Corporation Law & Practice, Reich (RESERVE KFN2013.R45 1989)
New Jersey Forms: Legal and Business, chs. 17, 17A, 17B, 30-32 (KFN1868.N45)
New Jersey Law Affecting Business Entities, Annotated, 2003 ed.
(RESERVE KFN2013.A34 A196 2003)
New Jersey Limited Liability Company Forms & Practice Manual, Goldman & Halchak
(RESERVE KFN2007.5.A65 G64)
New Jersey Pleading & Practice Forms, vol. 8, Business Organizations (KFN2330.A65 N49)
Seltzer’s New Jersey Law with Forms, vol. 1, ch. 5, Corporations (KFN1865.S4)

 

Divorce and Child Custody

Statutes

Divorce, N.J.S.A. 2A:34-1, et seq.
Alimony, N.J.S.A. 2A:34-23
Children, N.J.S.A. 9:1-1, et seq.
  Custody, N.J.S.A. 9:2-1, et seq.
  Termination of Parental Rights, N.J.S.A. 9:2-18
Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act, N.J.S.A. 2A:34-28

 

New Jersey Court Rules

Complaint for Divorce, R. 5:4-2
Alimony and Child Support, R. 5:7-4
Failure to Pay - Enforcement, R. 5:7-5
Modification, R. 5:7-6
Custody, R. 5:8-1, et seq.
Actions for Termination of Parental Rights, R. 5:9

 

Form Books & Treatises

New Jersey Family Law, 1 vol. (RESERVE KFN1894.A29 N48 2003)
New Jersey Family Law, Grossman, 1 vol. (RESERVE KFN1894.G76 1999)
Guralnick, New Jersey Family Law Annotated, 2004ed. (1 vol.)
(RESERVE KFN1894.A3 2004)
Skoloff & Cutler, New Jersey Family Law Practice, 3 vols. (KFN1900.S55) (current edition on Reserve at Circulation Desk)
New Jersey Forms: Legal & Business, ch. 27 (KFN1868.N45)
New Jersey Pleading and Practice Forms, vol. 5, Family Law (KFN2330.A65 N49)
New Jersey Practice, vols. 10-12, Family Law & Practice with Forms and accompanying Family Law Reference Manual (KFN1880.N4)
Seltzer’s New Jersey Law with Forms, vol. 4, ch. 8, Family Law (KFN1865.S4)
Yudes Family Law Citation, 2001 ed. 2 vols. (RESERVE KFN1894.Z9Y4 2001)

 

Change of Name

Statutes

Generally, N.J.S.A. 2A:52-1, et seq.

New Jersey Court Rules

Actions for Change of Name, R. 4:72
Complaint, R.4:72-1
Notice of Application, R. 4:72-3
Hearing; Judgment; Publication; Filing, R. 4:72-4

Form Books & Treatises

New Jersey Pleading and Practice Forms, vol. 5, Family Law, ch. 44 (KFN2330.A65 N49)

 

Landlord/Tenant Actions

Statutes

Actions for Recovery, N.J.S.A. 2A:42-7
Evictions, N.J.S.A. 2A:18-53
Removal of Residential Tenants, N.J.S.A. 2A:18-61.2

New Jersey Court Rules

Summons, R. 6:2-1
Service of Process, R. 6:2-3

Form Books & Treatises

Fast, A Guide to Landlord/Tenant Actions: In the Special Civil Part of the Superior Court of NJ, 6th ed.
(2002) (KFN1917.Z9 F37)
New Jersey Practice, vols. 22-23A, Landlord and Tenant Law (KFN1880.N4)

 

Motor Vehicles

Statutes

Generally, N.J.S.A. 39
Intoxication of Driver, N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, 4-51

New Jersey Court Rules

Trial of Traffic Offenses, R. 7:12-1, et seq.
Plea and Payment of Fines, R. 7:12-4(d)
Complaint and Summons, R. 7:2-1, et seq.

Form Books & Treatises

DWI 1999: Handling Drunk Driving Cases in New Jersey, ICLE
(RESERVE KFN2097.8.A2 D88 1999)
New Jersey Drunk Driving Law 2003, Ramsey (RESERVE KFN2097.8 R35 2003)
New Jersey Practice, vols. 24-26A, Motor Vehicle Law and Practice (KFN1880.N4)

 

Statutes and Case Reporters Abbreviations and Locations

Abbreviation

Volume

Location (floor/row)

A. (2d)

Atlantic Reporter (Second Series)

1/13-15

Am. Jur. (2d)

American Jurisprudence (Second Series)

1/25

A.L.R. (2d-5th)

American Law Reports (and susequent series)

1/13 & 3/22-23 (Index on Reserve)

A.L.R.Fed.

American Law Reports, Federal Series

1/5-6 & 3/12

C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations

current 1/3 (older 3/2-5)

C.J.S.

Corpus Juris Secundum

1/25-26

Fed. Reg.

Federal Register

1/3 (older DOCUS, 2/67-75)

F. (3d-3d)

Federal Reporter (and subsequent series)

1/6-8 & 3/13-16

F.R.D.

Federal Rules Decisions

1/50-51

F.Supp. (2d)

Federal Supplement (Second Series)

1/9-11 & 3/17-20

L.Ed. (2d)

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer's Edition (Lexis) (Second Series)

1/4-5 (& 3/10 only to 2d vol. 115)

N.E. (2d)

North Eastern Reporter (Second Series)

1/15-19 (& 3/24-25 only to 2d vol. 688)

N.J.

New Jersey Reports

NJREF & 2/24 (advance sheets, RESERVE)

N.J.A.C.

New Jersey Administrative Code

RESERVE only

N.J.S.A.

New Jersey Statues Annotated

NJREF, RESERVE, & DOCREF

N.J.Super.

New Jersey Superior Court Reports

NJREF & 2/24-25 (advanced sheets, RESERVE)

N.W. (2d)

North Western Reporter (Second Series)

1/17-18 (&3/26-27 only to 2d vol. 572)

P. (2d-3d)

Pacific Reporter (and subsequest series)

1/18-20 (& 3/27-29 only to 2d vol. 950)

S. Ct.

West's Supreme Court Reporter

1/5 & 3/11-12 (advanced sheets, RESERVE)

S.E. (2d)

South Eastern Reporter (Second Series)

1/20 (& 3/29-30 only to 2d vol. 496)

So. or S. (2d)

Southern Reporter (Second Series)

1/22-24 (& 3/32-34 only to 2d vol. 704)

Stat.

United States Statutes at Large

1/1-2

S.W. (2d-3d)

South Western Reporter (and subsequest series)

1-21-22 (& 3/30-32 only to 2d vol. 958)

U.S.

United States Reports

1/3-4 & 3/8-10 (advanced sheets, RESERVE)

U.S.C.

United States Code

1/1 & DOCREF

U.S.C.A.

United States Code Annotated (West)

1/2 (Titles 18, 28, 42 on RESERVE) & DOCREF

U.S.C.S.

United States Code Serivce (Lexis)

1/3

 

 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip