This is the "Home" page of the "Topical Law Sites" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Topical Law Sites  

Last Updated: Sep 20, 2016 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=702832 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Resources

last revised September 14, 2016

(For links to other topically arranged guides, see below.)

Contents

Accounting

  • FASB Pronouncements and EITF Abstracts (Financial Accounting Standards Board). Includes Statements of Financial Accounting Standards, Statements of Financial Accounting Concepts, and FASB Interpretations, Staff Positions andTechnical Bulletins. (EITF stands for Emerging Issues Task Force).

Admiralty

Alternative Dispute Resolution

Animal Law

Antitrust

Appellate Practice

Banking & Finance Law

Bankruptcy

Business Associations

Constitutional Law

Contracts

Criminal Law

Disabilities Law

Domestic Violence

Education Law

Elder Law

Election Law

Eminent Domain

Empirical Legal Studies

Employment Law

Environmental Law

  • Avosetta Group. A group of lawyers " whose main purpose is to further the development of environmental law in the European Union and Member States." Site includes their proceedings and discussion papers.
  • Climate Law Database, includes documents on enforcement of laws to combat climate change.
  • Commission for Environmental Cooperation: Laws, Treaties, and Agreements - includes relevant agreements from throughout the Americas, and Summary of Environmental Law in North America, a detailed compilation of information on United States, Canadian, and Mexican environmental laws.
  • Environmental Law (Rutgers Univ. Libraries)
  • Environmental Law Net / David S. Blackmar, Esq.   Links to federal and state laws and regulations, foreign laws, tribal law, federal and state agency documents and databases, compliance checklists, enforcement policies.
  • Center for International Environmental Law   A public-interest law firm. The site offers many discussion papers, working papers, and reports in PDF.
  • ECOLEX   Databases of references to treaties, softlaw documents, national legislation, court decisions, and secondary literature, searchable and browsable by subject, keyword, jurisdiction, date, and author.   The legal instruments are also indexed by species and higher taxonomic groupings of fauna and flora.   Site also includes extensive key to UN acronyms.
  • Environmental Law Alliance Worldwide (E-LAW   Includes texts of or links to selected national court opinions.
  • IISD Reporting Services (International Institute for Sustainable Development).   Includes the current issues and archives of Earth Negotiations Bulletin, a daily reporting service on environment and development negotiations, and links to official documents.
  • United Nations Environment Programme (Geneva office)

Estate Planning

Expert Testimony

Family Law

Government Information

Health Law

Housing Law

Immigration Law

Intellectual Property

Internet Law

Jurisprudence / Legal Theory / Philosophy of Law

Land Use, Property & Zoning

Law and Economics

Legal Education

(see also our Law Schools and Lawyers page.)

Legal Ethics & Legal Profession

(see also our Law Schools and Lawyers page.)

Legal History

(See also our Legal History Pathfinder)

General & Miscellaneous

  • The Avalon Project (at Yale): historic legal documents from ancient times to the 20th century
  • Famous Trials (Doug Linder)
  • Legal Classics Library (Hein Online) (Rutgers-restricted access) A searchable and browsable collection of about 1,500 works. The majority relate to Anglo-American law, but some works on ancient law and other legal systems are included.
  • Medieval Legal History, in the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, Fordham Univ. (Paul Halsall, editor). Includes late Roman law, canon law, European and English law.

Ancient Law

Common Law

British Legal History

American Legal History

Military Law

National Security

Native American Law

Nonprofit Organizations

Parliamentary Procedure

Privacy

  • PrivacyLaw.net (by Keith P. Enright, Esq.). Includes material on Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA) and Graham-Leach-Bliley Act.
  • The Right to Privacy by Samuel Warren and Louis D. Brandeis, originally published at 4 Harvard Law Review 193 (1890).

Products Liability

Religion & Law

Canon Law

Islamic Law

Jewish Law

Securities Law

Sexuality & Law

  • Casebook on Sexual Orientation and the Law   "150 Edited American Appellate Cases Adjudicating Lesbian and Gay Rights Claims; Arranged by: Case Name, Court, Subject Matter, Year" (by Prof. Dan Pinello, John Jay College of Criminal Justice)
  • GayLawNet   An elaborate site, based in Australia but with coverage of USA, UK, Canada, and elsewhere.   Includes FAQ, GayLawNews archive, attorney listings, many links to gay rights groups.
  • Lambda Legal Defense & Education Fund   Includes national maps linked to state-by-state information on laws and bills about marriage and partnership, discrimination, and sodomy.
  • Queer Legal Resources   Includes case archives, state laws, & archive of Lesbian/Gay Law Notes.
  • Same Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature compiled by Paul Axel-Lute
  • The Williams Institute (UCLA School of Law)   "The Williams Institute is dedicated to conducting rigorous, independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law and public policy."

Social Security

Sports Law

Tax Law

Traffic Laws


Other Topical Guides:

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip