This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Federal Legislative History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Federal Legislative History  

Last Updated: Sep 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=702839 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

How-to & Library Resources

Last Updated 12/2015

1. Starting with a U.S.C., U.S.C.A. or U.S.C.S. citation:

Use the historical notes at the end of the citation to find the Public Law number. Many sections of the U.S. Code will have multiple P.L. numbers as the sections have been amended multiple times. It is helpful to know the approximate date the law passed to zero in on the relevant Public Law.

2. Starting with the Popular Name of the legislation:

Find the Public Law number in Shepard's Acts by Popular Name (REF KF 90. S52) or look in the popular name tables in the pamphlets at the end of the U.S.C.A. or U.S.C.S.

3. When you know the Public Law number:

  • For the years 1970 to 2008, use the CIS Index (DOCREF KF 49.C62) to find a summary of the legislative history. CIS Legislative Histories from 1970 to date are also available through Proquest Congressional Publications available at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp (available on site or with Rutgers University log-in).
  • For legislation passed from 1973 to the present, use Congress.gov ( http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo41670  ), a legislative database maintained by the Library of Congress. Congress.gov can be searched using the bill number or public law number.  One can also check the status of pending legislation through Congress.gov. For more recent legislation, Congress.gov provides hyperlinks to many of the relevant documents, including the Congressional Record, reports and hearings. The text of the hearings usually contains only the prepared statements submitted by witnesses, not actual testimony.
  • The U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News USCCAN (DOCREF KF 48. U54) contains the full text of Public Laws from 1941 to the present. Beginning in 1948 it contains legislative history summaries. The summaries are not as complete as those found in the CIS Index or on Thomas. Selected House and Senate Reports can be found in USCCAN, but the text of the reports may be redacted. Where possible obtain the text of reports from the Serial Set.
  • At the end of the Congressional Record Index volume, or after 195?, in the Congressional Record Daily Digest Volume, there is a brief summary history of bills passed that year. The summary includes committee report numbers.
  • Lexis and Westlaw - Both online services offer some legislative materials. Westlaw's coverage includes House and Senate committee reports (as reported in USCCAN 1948-1989 with comprehensive coverage starting in 1990) and the Congressional Record (from 99th Congress to today).  Lexis has all committee reports since 1990 and the Congressional Record from 1985 to today.  For current legislation, Lexis and Westlaw may offer more comprehensive coverage than print sources.

4. Finding legislative documents:

A depository law library is usually the best place to research federal legislative history. For any given piece of legislation, the following documents may exist:

Document Location
Congressional Bills

Congressional Record - Rows 2/99 -104
Microfiche - Cabinets 24 & 25 - 94-106 Congresses
Congress.gov:  http://purl.fdlp.gov/GPO/gpo41670  (93rd - )
FDSys (103rd - ) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=BILLS
Lexis (101st - )
Westlaw (104th - )

Proquest Congressional Publications (1987-Present) http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp

House & Senate Reports

Congressional Serial Set (Y1.1/2) - Rows 2/105-108
(Print: 80th Congress, 2nd Session to present)
Microfiche Cabinets 23 & 24 - 61st - 96th Congresses
Opaque Microcard 15th - 21st Congresses (DOCREF)
USCCAN - Selected Reports 1948 - present
DOCREF KF 48. U54
FDSys (104th-present): http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CRPT
Westlaw: selected reports 1948-1989 (USCCAN) all reports 1990 to today (LH)
Lexis: 1990 - present (CMTRPT)

Proquest Congressional (1970-Present): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp

Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/us_congressional_serials

House & Senate Documents

Congressional Serial Set (Y1.1/2) - Rows 2/105-108
(Print 80th Congress 2nd Session to present)
Microfiche Cabinets 23 & 24 - 61st - 96th Congresses
FDSys (94th-Present, selected): http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CDOC

Proquest Congressional (1970-Present): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp

Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/us_congressional_serials

Committee Prints

Publications prepared for the use of committee members and staff. Not available for most bills. Some committee prints are distributed to depository libraries. Not all committee prints are directly related to legislation.
FDSys (94th, 102nd-Present, selected): http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPRT
Lexis: selected Prints - 1995 to present.(CMTPRN)

Hein: selected committee prints 103rd to 110th Congress http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=alpha/A_comprint&collection=congrec

Proquest Congressional (1970-Present): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp

Rutgers School of Law-Camden: Selected documents 1970's to present http://njlaw.rutgers.edu/collections/gdoc/

Congressional Hearings

(89th Congress - present, select hearings before 89th)
Print: (Y4) Rows 2/113-127
Microform cabinets 25-26
Note: The library selects some committee hearings in print and others in microfiche - Check with the Documents office
FDSys (99th-present, selected): http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CHRG

Hein: Selected hearings from the late 19th century forward http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=alpha/1_cbhear&collection=congrec

Proquest Congressional (1894-Present): http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/congcomp

Rutgers School of Law-Camden: Selected documents 1970's to present http://njlaw.rutgers.edu/collections/gdoc/

Congressional Debates

Congressional Record (X 1.1 ) Rows 2/99-104
Microform cabinet 23
FDSys: Congressional Record Bound edition (1999-2001)http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CRECB; Daily Edition (1994-Present) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CREC

Westlaw: Congressional Record 99th Congress to current (CR)
Lexis: Congressional Record 1985 to current (RECORD)

Hein: Congressional Record 1980-current; Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873) http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=congrec&set_as_cursor=clear

Presidential signing statements or veto messages Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (AE 2.109)
Row 2/76
FDSys (1993- present): http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CPD
Miscellaneous The Hathi Trust http://www.hathitrust.org/ has many Congressional Documents (hearings, committee prints, House and Senate documents, etc.) in .pdf format

5. Finding Compiled Legislative Histories:

In most cases it is necessary to compile a legislative history from scratch by locating all of the relevant documents listed above. But for some major legislative acts there may exist published legislative histories that bring together all of the relevant documents and may also contain added commentary and analysis by the author(s). Many of these compiled legislative histories are published by the staff of congressional committees (usually as Committee Prints) or the Congressional Research Service. Legislative histories are also published by executive agencies or by legal scholars as law review articles. Checking for the existence of a compiled legislative history can save the researcher a great deal of time and effort.

There are two major indexes for finding compiled legislative histories:

  • Johnson, Nancy P., Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Buffalo, N.Y.: William S. Hein & Co., 2012. [DOCREF- KF 42.2 .S68 2012]

    This work covers laws passed from the 1st through the 110th Congress.

  • Reams, Bernard D., Federal Legislative Histories: An Annotated Bibliography and Index to Officially Published Sources. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994. [DOCREF KF 42.2 1994]

    This work is limited to legislative histories published by official government sources (Committee Prints or works by executive agencies). It covers laws passed from the 1st through 101st Congress. Though the scope is narrower than the Nancy Johnson work it contains some histories not covered in the Johnson index.

The Law Librarians' Society of Washington, DC maintains a listing of compiled legislative histories available online at http://www.llsdc.org/legislative-histories-laws-on-the-internet-free-sources.

HeinOnline includes the full text of many compiled legislative histories through its US Federal Legislative History Library, available at http://heinonline.org/HOL/Index?collection=leghis&set_as_cursor=clear

Compiled legislative histories are also available through Lexis and Westlaw. Westlaw features the Arnold & Porter legislative history database that contains the full text of legislative documents for about two dozen major laws. Additionally, Westlaw also has three practice specific legislative databases for immigration law, securities & blue sky law and taxation. The CIS Congressional Universe is a subscription database available from Lexis that provides full legislative histories with hyperlinks to all of the associated documents for legislation from 1970 to the present. It is not available through the basic Lexis account and Rutgers does not have a subscription to this database.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip