This is the "Home" page of the "Legal History Pathfinder" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal History Pathfinder  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=702845 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library & Online Resources

 

last updated April 11, 2017/ DC

 

Contents

 

 

General & Miscellaneous Legal History

 

  • For books in the library on general history of law, see call numbers K 140 - K 165.
  • The Avalon Project (at Yale): historic legal documents from ancient times to the 20th century
  • Famous Trials (Doug Linder)
  • Selected Web Sources for Legal History (Tarlton Law Library, Univ.of Texas)
  • Legal History & Rare Books SIS (American Association of Law Libraries). Includes a substantial newsletter, and an Index to American Journal of Legal History, Volumes 1-48 (1957-2006).
  • Legal Classics Library (Hein Online) (Rutgers-restricted access) A searchable and browsable collection of about 1,500 works. The majority relate to Anglo-American law, but some works on ancient law and other legal systems are included.
  • Medieval Legal History, in the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, Fordham Univ. (Paul Halsall, editor). Includes late Roman law, canon law, European and English law.

 

Ancient Law

 

 

Common Law

 

 

British Legal History

 

 

American Legal History

 

 

General Historical Databases

 

This is a selection of general databases most likely to be useful in researching legal history. (Access to most of the databases listed in this section is Rutgers-restricted.) The Rutgers University Libraries site provides access to many other Indexes and Databases.

 

 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip