This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to New York Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to New York Law  

Last Updated: Apr 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/content.php?pid=702849 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

New York Law

by Caroline Young 
last revised February, 2017/ DC
NOTE: All of the web sites listed on this Internet Guide provide free resources unless otherwise indicated.


Contents

New York Constitution

  • New York State Legislature This site includes the current New York Constitution. Click on "Laws of New York". Scroll all the way down to "Miscellaneous" and click on "CNS".
  • New York State Senate This is another link to the New York State Constitution. Available in Microsoft Word .doc Format.

New York Statutes, Bills, & Legislative History

Fee-Based Legislative Information

  • New York Legislative Service  This is a fee-based service that provides access to full-text New York State and New York City legislative information.

New York Court Rules & other Judiciary Material

Fee-Based Forms

  • Downloadable Forms Purchase downloadable forms from the New York State Bar Association organized by practice areas and topics.

New York Court Decisions & Proceedings

New York Ethics Codes & Ethics Opinions

Attorneys

Judges

New York Executive Orders & Proclamations

New York Agencies, Rules and Regulations

New York Administrative Decisions and Opinions

New York Attorney General's Opinions and Briefs

  • New York State Attorney General. Includes opinions issued since 1995 and significant briefs from the United States Supreme Court, New York Court of Appeals, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and Other Courts
  • Attorney General Reports and Opinions From HeinOnline’s New York Legal Research Library (Rutgers Law School Access only). Includes Opinions of the Attorneys-General of the State of New York from the Formation of the State Government to February, 1872, as well as New York Attorney General Reports and Opinions from 1890-2016.

New York Municipalities and Counties

New York City

Other Cities and Counties

Fee-based publications from the New York State Bar Association

  • Bar Journal The New York State Bar Association Journal features substantive articles relating to the practice of law in New York State. It is published nine times per year and distributed to members free of charge, as a benefit of membership.
  • State Bar News The State Bar News is the official publication of the New York State Bar Association and provides members with up-to-date information about Association events and matters of interest to legal professionals.
  • NY Law Digest Online Edition Professor David Siegel's NY Law Digest offered as an archive of PDF documents dating from 2002 to the present. Law Digest is published monthly and is a New York Bar members-only publication.

New York Bar CLE Publications

  • New York Bar CLE Library from LoisLawConnect (Rutgers Law School Access only). Written and edited by leading attorneys from throughout New York State. Covers a variety of practice areas.

New York Topical Legal Sites

  • N.Y. State Government Overviews, guides, and contact information regarding a variety of topics including Freedom of Information Law (FOIL), child custody, and parole and probation.

New York Electronic Libraries

  • New York Legal Research Library From HeinOnline (Rutgers Law School Access only) Includes the reports and opinions of the New York Attorney General, the New York State Register, Tax Cases, New York State Session Laws, New York Law Journals, the New York State Bar Association Journal, legal classics from or about New York, New York trials, New York Codes prior to 1923 and State Reports.
  • Treatise Libraries From LoisLawConnect (Rutgers Law School Access only) Practice guides, forms and checklists, analyses and practice tips covering a variety of practice areas.

Other New York Sites

 

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip