Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017
State business records are maintained with each state's Department (or Secretary) of State.
- Business Guides via Rutgers Libraries
A variety of business-related research guides, by topic.
- Business Indexes and Databases via Rutgers Libraries
Core, related, and supplementary databases for company and business research.
- Departments and Secretaries of State, by State
The extent of information available and the way in which it is present varies from state to state. Some states provide only a business name lookup, while others offer search by officer and director names, and UCC filing information.
- State of NJ Business Records Service
Welcome to the Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services' Business Records Service. Through this service, you will be able to search for information on all types of businesses operating in New Jersey, including business entities like corporations and LLCs, as well as trade names and trade/service marks used by New Jersey businesses. You will be able to obtain standing certificates and status reports on any business on file with the State and obtain copies of filed corporate and LLC documents. Also, you will be able to download lists or abstracts of businesses on file with the State.
- Locate a Business Nationwide via Lexis Advance
Lexis Advance's Public Records portal provides databases for locating businesses and obtaining (some) business filings.
- Company Search via Bloomberg Law
Find companies that meet specific financial criteria. Our database contains many years of financial data for global public companies and two years of financial data for more than 100,000 private companies.
- Company Investigator via Westlaw
- Companies House
Companies House is a registry of company information for England and Wales; the registrar of companies for Scotland and/or the registrar of companies for Northern Ireland as the circumstances require.
Search records from several different sources, including: SEC filings (including insiders, events, reports, proxies, offerings, registrations and ownership); Patents (including utility applications, utility grants, design patents, plant patents and reissues); Court dockets (from Federal District Courts, Federal Bankruptcy Courts, a partial group of dockets from the Circuit Courts of Appeals, Court of Federal Claims and Court of International Trade); Department of Justice releases; U.S. Attorney’s Offices releases
The owner of a website might not always be clear from the available (or source) information. Part of an informal factual investigation may lead you to discover online resources for or about individuals or businesses, and confirming the owner of a website can help verify any known information.