This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z Electronic Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A-Z Electronic Resource List  

This page is your A-Z source for digital legal research resources.
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.law.rutgers.edu/A-Z Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Our Reference Librarians are available to assist you with Law Library resources and research questions.

Camden Reference Desk: (856) 225-6173

Camden Reference Email: lawlib@camden.rutgers.edu

Newark Reference Desk: (973) 353-5676

Newark Reference Email: refdesk@kinoy.rutgers.edu

Regular Semester Reference Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 9AM - 7PM

Friday: 9AM - 5PM

 

Search our Catalog

A

B

C

  • CALI - Computer Assisted Legal Instruction  Icon  Icon
    Interactive tutorials on a wide range of legal topics, written by law professors and other experts. Rutgers - Camden students may register for CALI via the Law School intranet: https://camlaw.rutgers.edu/cgi-bin/students/cali.cgi.
  • Camden Center for Law and Social Justice
    A legal services provider serving low-income clients on a sliding-fee basis, with special emphasis on domestic violence and immigration-related matters.
  • Camden County Bar Association
    Local bar association services include a lawyer referral service available to all.
  • CaseText
    Free legal research platform featuring community-sourced annotations and links to secondary sources.
  • CCH IntelliConnect  Icon
    Primary law and CCH tools and analysis for federal and state tax law, banking, corporate governance, securities, health law, and other topics.
  • Center for Regulatory Effectiveness
    News and analysis on federal agencies.
  • CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online  Icon
    Papers & conference proceedings from universities, NGOs and foundations, 1991 - present
  • Congress.gov
    Official site for U.S. federal legislative information, including pending legislation, Congressional committee materials, the Congressional Record, and members of Congress. Includes content formerly available via THOMAS.
  • Congressional Publications (Proquest)  Icon
    Congressional publications, legislative histories, bills and laws.
  • CourtListener
    A free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts. Part of the Free Law Project.
  • CQ Researcher  Icon
    In-depth analysis of contemporary issues, 1991 to present
  • Creative Commons
    A nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts  Icon
    Coverage: 1969 to present.

D

E

F

  • FactCheck.org
    Resource for voters that monitors selected U.S. office-seekers for the accuracy of their public statements and advertisements.
  • Factiva  Icon
    Access to Factiva publications and company information.
  • Fastcase  Icon  Icon
    A legal research tool offering state and federal primary sources and journal content via HeinOnline.
  • FDSys (Federal Digital System)
    Official source for authenticated PDF copies of documents from all three branches of the Federal government, including the United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional committee documents, economic indicators, and more.
  • FindLaw
    Free source for federal and state primary sources, forms, and lawyer-search tools.
  • Foreign Law Guide  Icon
    Current information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, availability of English translations, and selected secondary sources.
  • Founders' Constitution
    A unique anthology of commentary and analysis on the U.S. Constitution, organized by article, section, and clause.
  • FRASER (Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research)
    A mixed subject and institutional repository that preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. Hosted by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

G

  • GANN Law Books  Icon  Icon
    GANN publishes several key titles in New Jersey Practice, including the official version of the New Jersey Court Rules.
  • General Code
    A source for selected municipal codes.
  • Global Legal Monitor
    An online publication of the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. Includes news archives back to 2004.
  • GlobaLex
    Guides to international, foreign, and comparative legal research.
  • GovTrack.us
    Free resource for identifying and tracking federal legislation by district.

H

  • HathiTrust
    A digital library collecting over five million books digitized by Google Books, the Internet Archive, and libraries at partner institutions
  • HeinOnline  Icon
    Law journals, legislative histories, treaties, Congressional documents, and many other legal sources, downloadable in PDF.
  • Historical Census Browser
    A tool to compare state and county topics from multiple census years, and generate maps and tables. Hosted by the University of Virginia Library.
  • How to Format an Appellate Brief
    This guide from the University of Montana law library gives thorough instructions on how to format an appellate brief in Word for both PC and Mac.
  • Human Rights and Humanitarian Law E-books  Icon
    Books published in 2009, 2010, and 2011.

I

J

  • JSTOR  Icon
    Full-text database of over 2,000 scholarly journals, including legal materials.
  • Justia
    A free source for state and federal statutes and resources organized by practice area.

K

      

    L

    • Law360  Icon
      Legal news and current awareness tools for a variety of practice areas. Updated every business day.
    • Legal Information Institute (LII)
      A free source for U.S. federal statutes, regulations, and decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court. Also includes a legal dictionary, encyclopedia, and a Guide to Basic Legal Citation.
    • Legal Scholarship Network (SSRN)
      A free source for research papers and professional announcments for legal scholars.
    • Legal Services of New Jersey - Publications
      A source for free New Jersey legal information manuals (some in multiple languages) on topics including divorce, domestic violence, foreclosure, tenants' rights, termination of parental rights, and welfare rights.
    • Legislative Source Book
      A compendium of resources for tracking, analysing, and compiling U.S. federal legislative information. Published by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C.
    • Lexis Advance  Icon  Icon
      Comprehensive source for U.S. law, secondary sources, forms, finding tools, and news.
    • LexisNexis Statistical Insight  Icon
      Permits searching across many government statistical databases.
    • LLMC (Law Library Microform Consortium)  Icon
      A source for older government publications, including state session laws and codes.
    • LLRX
      A source for court rules, legal forms, and dockets, as well as original articles on a wide range of law and legal technology issues.

    M

    N

    • NCLC Digital Library  Icon
      Online access to 20 treatises published by the National Consumer Law Center, covering topics like debtors rights, credit and banking, and consumer litigation.
    • New Jersey Administrative Code
      A free, unannotated version of the current New Jersey Administrative Code, hosted by LexisNexis.
    • New Jersey Administrative Law Decisions
      A full-text archive of administrative law decisions issued by the New Jersey Office of Administrative Law and other agencies.
    • New Jersey Constitutional Documents
      A full-text archive of selected documents of the proceedings, acts, and texts of the Constitutions of the State of New Jersey, 1776 to present.
    • New Jersey Court Rules (Gann)  Icon  Icon
      Official version of the New Jersey Rules of Court, featuring extensive annotations.
    • New Jersey Courts
      A full-text archive of opinions from the New Jersey Supreme Court (March 1994-present); Superior Court, Appellate Division (Sept. 1995-present) and Tax Court (Sept. 1995-present). Includes unpublished Appellate Division opinions from 2005 to present.
    • New Jersey Databases, by State Agency
      An annotated wiki listing databases of New Jersey state agencies. Hosted by the American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table.
    • New Jersey Digital Legal Library
      A digital collection of New Jersey law and legal history, including Administrative Reports, Affordable Housing Archive and Council on Affordable Housing decisions, Supreme Court oral arguments, and more. Hosted by the Rutgers University Library fo the Center for Law & Justice.
    • New Jersey Ethics Opinions
      A full-text archive of the opinions of the Advisory Committee on Professional Ethics, Committee on the Unauthorized Practice of Law, and the Committee on Attorney Advertising.
    • New Jersey Law Journal  Icon  Icon
      Weekly legal journal for all-things related to practice in New Jersey, including court decisions and editorial content.
    • New Jersey Legislature
      The official website for the New Jersey legislature includes access to pending legislation, committee calendars, and the current New Jersey Statutes (unannotated).
    • New Jersey Office of the Governor
      A source for information on New Jersey agencies and departments, including links to laws and regulations, press releases, and information for the media.
    • New Jersey Register
      A free, unannotated version of the New Jersey Register (1995-present), hosted by LexisNexis.
    • New Jersey School Law Decisions
      A full-text archive of decisions issued by the Commissioner and School Board of the N.J. Dept. of Education and N.J. Office of Administrative Law.
    • New Jersey Session Laws
      A digital collection of the Acts of the New Jersey Colonial Assembly and the Session Laws of the New Jersey Legislature, through 1999.
    • New Jersey State Library
      A source for administrative law materials, historical New Jersey documents (charters, treaties, colonial ordinances, etc.), and New Jersey legislative histories (1970-2011).
    • New Jersey Supreme Court Disciplinary Review Board Decisions
      A full-text archive of the decisions of the New Jersey Supreme Court's Disciplinary Review Board.
    • New York Times (Proquest)  Icon
      Full text images from the newspaper are available through this database.
    • NOLO - Free Legal Articles
      NOLO, a publisher of legal self-help materials, offers a compendium of answers to frequently-asked legal questions.

    O

    • OECD Library  Icon
      OECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.Full text of OECD periodicals and documents are available at this site.
    • Open Secrets
      A thorough resource for identifying and analysing federal campaign contributions. Published by the Center for Responsive Politics.
    • Open States  
        
      Research state bills, review voting records, contact elected officials and more.
    • Oxford Constitutions of the World  Icon
      An extremely thorough database of world constitutions as well as commentaries and analysis.
    • Oxford English Dictionary  Icon
      Based on the second edition but with drafts and revisions from the not yet released third edition.
    • Oxford Legal Research Library: Financial and Banking Law  Icon
      A collection of secondary sources on all aspects of banking, capital markets, currency, financial markets, financial regulations, and more.
    • Oxford Legal Research Library: International Commercial Law  Icon
      A collection of secondary sources on all aspects of the international law of sale and contract.
    • Oxford Legal Research Library: Private International Law  Icon
      A collection of secondary sources on international litigation, choice of law issues, jurisdiction, procedure, and the intersection of international law and contract, commercial enterprises, family law, property, and more.
    • Oxford US Constitutional Law  Icon
      A comprehensive resource for U.S. constitutional law, the constitutional law of the states, and related commentaries and analysis.
    • Oyez Project
      A multimedia archive devoted to the U.S. Supreme Court, including extensive information about the Court's cases (including recordings of oral arguments) and Justices. Published by the Chicago-Kent College of Law.

    P

    • PAIS International  Icon
      Database covering public affairs, social and public policy, and international relations from journals, books, conference proceedings and government documents, 1972 - present.
    • Peace Palace Library
      One of the largest collections in the fields of public and private international law and diplomatic history.
    • Polling the Nations  Icon
      Opinion surveys from over 700 polling organizations covering 80 countries, 1986 - present
    • ProQuest Congressional Publications  Icon
      Database of current and historical Congressional information and documents, including committee prints, House and Senate reports, hearings, and legislative histories.

    Q

        

      R

      • Ravel Law
        Free case law search platform including visualization tools.
      • Regulations.gov
        The official website for submitting and reviewing comments to proposed federal rulemaking.
      • RIA Checkpoint
        A tax database.

      S

      • SCOTUSBlog
        This blog publishes a wealth of information documenting the work of the U.S. Supreme Court, including breaking news, a linked docket, statistics, and analysis of pending petitions and merits cases.
      • Securities Lawyer's Deskbook
        A one-stop resource for the U.S. statutes and regulations governing securities law. Maintained by the University of Cincinnati College of Law, Robert S. Marx Law Library.
      • StateScape
        This fee-based legislative and regulatory tracking source also offers free access to state regulatory registers, legislative information, budget timetables, and more.
      • Statistical Abstract of the United States
        The authoritative and comprehensive sumamry of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization fo the United States. Available from 1878-2012.

      T

          

        U

        • U.S. Courts - Federal Court Websites
          Links to the official websites of the U.S. Supreme Court, the 13 Circuit Courts of Appeals, all U.S. District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts, and U.S. Probation and Pretrial Servcies Offices.
        • U.S. Courts - Federal Rules of Practice & Procedure
          An official source for the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence, the Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, and Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.
        • U.S. State Department - Treaty Affairs
          Abstract information and selected full text for treaties and international agreements to which the United States is a party.
        • UNILEX
          A database of international case law and bibliography on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts and on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG).
        • United Nations Statistics Division Common Database - UNdata  Icon
          UNdata provides selected series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.
        • United Nations Treaty Collection
          A source for three databases: the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), and the Status of Multilateral Treaties Depositited with the Secretary-General (MTDSG).
        • United States Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980  Icon
          Full-text database of key publications of the United States Congress.
        • United States Courts - Glossary
          An official glossary of terms used in the U.S. federal court system.
        • United States Supreme Court
          Official website of the U.S. Supreme Court. Includes docket information and selected documents for the current term.
        • USAspending.gov
          A searchable database providing access to information about how federal tax dollars are being spent on federal contract, grant, loan, and other financial assistance awards of more than $25,000, and for certain federal contract​s of more than $3,000.

        V

        • Virtual Chase
          A free source for legal research assistance, articles, guides, and teaching materials. Published by Justia.

        W

        • Well Settled
          Unequivocal articulations of legal principles and summaries of judicial opinions.
        • Westlaw  Icon  Icon
          Comprehensive source for U.S. law, secondary sources, forms, news, and finding tools. Available to Rutgers Law students and faculty.
        • Westlaw  Icon
          Research platform offering access to U.S. court opinions, statutes, and regulations, law reviews, American Jurisprudence, and the KeyCite citator service. Also contains extensive full-text news and business publications.
        • World Legal Information Institute (WLII)
          A free, single search tool for over 270 databases from the Australasia, British and Irish, Canadian, Hong Kong, U.S., and Pacific Islands Legal Information Institutes, as well as the Wits University School of Law.
        • WorldCat
          An easy-to-use meta-catalog from thousands of libraries around the world (including the Rutgers libraries).
        • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts  Icon
          Coverage: 1975 to present.

        X

            

          Y

              

            Z

            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip