LibGuides: Federal Depository Library Program Resources: Basic Collection

FDLP LibGuides

There are three groups of guides in FDLP LibGuides- FDLP Information, Hot Topics, and Subject Guides.

Law Library Resources

The Law Library collects all formats of government documents. If what you need is not in our catalog, search the Catalog of Government Publications.

Other Useful Guides

For more resources, please see our Federal L aw Research Guide and the Rutgers Libraries guide to Federal Resources.

Basic Collection eResources

Some resources may also be available in print. Scroll down for links to titles' Law Library catalog records which will include the item's SuDoc classification number and floor location.

American FactFinder
A source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. (C 3.300:)
Assistance Listings
A successor to CFDA.gov, provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals. (GS 1.52/2: )
Ben's Guide to the U.S. Government
Presents educational content for the public on the workings of the U.S. Government and U.S. history, with a focus on civics. (GP 3.39:)
Budget of the United States Government
1996-present. Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year. (PREX 2.8:)
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A finding tool for publications from all three branches of the U.S. government. Updated daily, it contains descriptive records for current and historical publications and provides direct links to those online. (GP 3.8/8-9:)
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
The annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government. (AE 2.106/3:)
more...less...
In the law library, the CFR is available in print (KF 70 .A3).
This title is also available in microfiche format.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
(AE 2.109:)
Congress.gov
Official site for U.S. federal legislative information, including pending legislation, Congressional committee materials, the Congressional Record, and members of Congress. Includes content formerly available via THOMAS.
Congressional Directory
The official directory of the United States Congress that includes members of the Senate and House, committee members, room and telephone numbers, and officials of the courts. (Y 4.P 93/1:)
Congressional Record
1994-present, via GovInfo. The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published daily when Congress is in session. (Note: This is the daily, not bound edition.) (X 1.1/A: )
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, includes the U.S. Constitution and analysis and interpretation, with in-text annotations of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States. (Y 1.1/3: )
Economic Indicators
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, provides economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
(Y 4.EC 7:EC 7/)
Economic Report of the President to Congress
An annual report from the President, providing on overview of economic progress, with extensive data appendices.
(PR 45.9:)
Explore Census Data, also known as data.census.gov
data.census.gov is the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases from the 2018 American Community Survey, 2017 Economic Census, 2020 Census, and more. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
Federal Register (daily)
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, along with executive orders.
(AE 2.106:)
more...less...
In the law library, the daily issues of the Federal Register are available in print.
(KF70 .A2). The Federal Register is also available in microfiche.
govinfo
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
A resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States. Profiles describe the work environment, education and training needed, a ten year outlook, and median pay for workers.
(L 2.3/4:)
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official publication of the President's addresses, writings, and remarks. 1991-2011.
(AE 2.114:)
Social Security Handbook
A guide to Social Security for laypeople, published online by the Social Security Administration. Updated biannually (January and July).
United States Code
The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-four titles.
(Y 1.2/5:)
more...less...
In the law library, this title is available in print, issued every 6 years (KF 62), and in microfiche.
United States Government Manual
This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on agencies of the three branches of government. 1995-present.
(AE 2.108/2:)
United States Reports
Contains the Supreme Court's opinions. Current Term opinions are accessible from a link at the top of the page.
(JU 6.8:)
more...less...
In the law library, the US Reports are available in print (KF101 .A212).
United States Statutes at Large
The United States Statutes at Large containing the permanent laws--public and private--that were enacted during each session of Congress. 1951-2011.
(AE 2.111:)
more...less...
In the law library, the US Statutes at Large are available in print (KF50 .U58).
USA.gov
Online guide to government information and services.

Federal Depository Library Program Resources: Basic Collection

General Information

FDLP LibGuides

Law Library Resources

Other Useful Guides

Basic Collection eResources

Can't Find What You Need?