Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Treaties Research Guide: Texts of Treaties

Authoritative Internet Resources

         United Nations Treaty Collection

        http://treaties.un.org

        United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) Online Collection

         The texts of over 158,000 records of bilateral and multilateral treaties and subsequent treaty actions in their authentic language (s), along with a translation into English and French, as appropriate.

        League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) Online Collection

         The texts of treaties and records of subsequent treaty actions published in 205 volumes of the League of Nations Treaty Series.

        Certified True Copies (CTCs) of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General

         Avalon Project

        http://avalon.law.yale.edu/default.asp

         Includes old, historically important treaties including Treaty of Westphalia, 1648. You can browse by years and popular names.

         Fletcher School Multilaterals Project

        http://fletcher.tufts.edu/multilaterals.html

        The collection today also includes treaties in the fields of human rights, commerce and trade, laws of war and arms control, and other areas. 

         ENTRI

        http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/entri/

        A fast, convenient, comprehensive online service for accessing multilateral environmental treaty data.

         Websites of International Organizations!

Websites of international organizations are important sources to find treaties. They provide the full text of treaties relating to the purpose of the organizations and the treaties concluded within the Organization. 

        Council of Europe's Official Treaty Office: European Treaty Series (ETS, 1949-2003), Council of Europe Treaty Series (CETS, 2004 -) 

         http://conventions.coe.int/

         Use 'Full List' on the left side menu to search for the full text of a treaty, information on status, declarations and reservations of individual countries, and its explanatory report. The Council of Europe Treaty Series groups together all the conventions concluded within the Organization since 1949.

        The Organization of American States (OAS) Treaty Series  (Washington, D.C.: General Secretariat, Organization of American States)

         http://www.oas.org/DIL/treaties_and_agreements.htm

         Separate search for multilateral treaties and bilateral agreements is available.

        World Trade Organization (WTO): WTO legal texts

         http://www.wto.org/english/docs_e/legal_e/legal_e.htm

        North America Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) Secretariat

         http://www.nafta-sec-alena.org/en/view.aspx?x=206

        International Law Commission (ILC)

         http://untreaty.un.org/ilc/texts/texts.htm

        United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP):ECOLEX

         http://www.ecolex.org/index.php

        Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO):Legal Office

         http://www.fao.org/Legal/treaties/treaty-e.htm

        United Nations High Commissioner on Human Rights (UNHCHR)

         http://www2.ohchr.org/english/bodies/treaty/index.htm

        United Nations High Commissioner on Refugees (UNHCR)

         http://www.unhcr.org/publ.html

        United Nations Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea

         http://www.un.org/Depts/los/index.htm

        International Labor Organization (ILO): ILOLEX

         http://www.ilo.org/ilolex/english/

        World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

         http://www.wipo.int/treaties/en/

        International Court of Justice (ICJ)

         http://www.icj-cij.org/documents/index.php?p1=4&p2=2&p3=0

Subscription Databases

         HeinOnline

        The United Nations Law Collection library compiled UN treaty texts and indexes under Treaty Publications. This includes League of Nations Treaty Series, United Nations Treaty Series, Indexes to UNTs, Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General.

         Lexis

        EC Treaties in BDIEL

        GATT Uruguay Round General Agreements on Tariffs and Trade

        International Legal Materials (1962-)

        TAX and TRADE are most of it!

          Westlaw:

        CMB-TREATIES: Combined Treaties
GATT Uruguay Round General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade
INTLENVL International Environmental Law Documents
UKHR-TREATIES United Kingdom Human Rights - Treaties
EU-TREATIES European Union Treaties
AU-AGREE-INTL Australian International Agreements
RIA-TREATIES RIA International Tax Treaties and Explanations
UKIP-TREATIES United Kingdom Intellectual Property - Treaties
ILM International Legal Materials (1980-)

Prints

 

         International Legal Materials (ILM):

 

        KZ64 .I58 (1962-current).

 

        Also available on Lexis (1962-current), Westlaw (1980-current), and HeinOnline (1962-2009).

 

         Consolidated Treaty Series (CTS)

 

        Covers treaties from 1648 to 1919.

 

        KZ120 .P35.