Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Available from Rutgers Law Library
Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library
This library includes a variety of subjects from the following series:
- Examples & Explanations
- Glannon Guides
- Emanual Crunchtime
- and more!
Law students and faculty now have access to 60-day free access pass to Bluebook Online.
Here are instructions for redeeming a key to set up a new subscription:
To request a key:
- Faculty should email their liaison librarian
- Newark students should email firstname.lastname@example.org
- Camden students should email email@example.com
To redeem this key and set up an account, enter it at www.legalbluebook.com where it says "Bluebook Key Redemption" and follow the on-screen instructions to set up a username (unique and active email address) and password. You only use the key once. From that point forward, you access your account with your username and password.
The subscription is active 60 days from the date you redeem this key on the website.
After you set up your account you might need to log out and then log back in again to view site contents.
If a user previously had a Bluebook subscription that expired, it is easiest to set up a new account with a different email address. To extend an existing account, go to My Account at the top of the page, Extend My Subscription, select the radio button for My Account Renewal/Extension and enter the key where it says Redeem Your Bluebook Key and click Go.
ChartaCourse’s mission is to make legal education better for law students by providing better materials at a lower price. In addition to online casebooks, ChartaCourse is now offering online study guides that students can use as supplements.
The eLangdell Bookstore
Free and open casebooks and supplements available from CALI (The Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction). Registration is free. Law students and faculty can find the CALI registration code on the Law School intranet.
Open Casebooks | H2O
Build a better casebook. View remixed casebooks.
H2O helps law faculty create high quality, open-licensed digital textbooks for free.
Registration is free.
Providing ebook equivalents, but limited to students who own a print copy of the title and who just can't get to their copy due to travel restrictions, leaving it in their dorms, etc.
They are making a title by title decision. They advise students to call 800-833-9844 to see if their casebook is eligible.
They will be to work one-on-one with professors to distribute time-limited ebook access to their students (The access codes will expire on June 1). Professors can e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org to make an inquiry and get the process started.
taking the same approach as Carolina Press. My understanding is that you should contact our regional sales rep. Kristin Keeser at Kristin.Keesser@wolterskluwer.com
Available from Rutgers Univ. Libraries
Proquest Ebook Central
over 130,000 scholarly e-books from various publishers across all academic disciplines.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials.
TEMPORARY ACCESS BOOKS
Many print books under copyright held by RUL are temporarily available to Rutgers students, faculty, and staff on the HathiTrust platform. More Information below.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
The eBook Collection contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subjects, including Behavioral Science, Business, Technology, Science, Literature, and Humanities.
eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
Rutgers has temporary access to eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection through June 15, 2020.
More from Rutgers Univ. Libraries
One way to find eBooks is to search through the Rutgers Libraries catalog here: http://quicksearch.libraries.rutgers.edu
Log in for access to more options.
After you run a search, use the facets to the left of the results to limit the results to:
- books, AND
- available online.
HathiTrust Temporary Access Books
Rutgers patrons have access to many titles in our print collection through HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS). We have added links in QuickSearch to all the ETAS monographs and multi-part monographs. In total, we added links to over 700,000 HathiTrust Temporary Access ebooks to QuickSearch.
For the Temporary Access books in QuickSearch, each link displays on the print record for the book. For an example, see: https://bit.ly/3f46jhY. Each link is labelled "HathiTrust Temporary Emergency Access Service" and has a note explaining, "Rutgers has temporary access until physical collections reopen." When you click the link, you will be prompted to log in with your NetID and password. Then you will be taken to the book's record in HathiTrust, where you will see a link saying "Temporary Access." Click "Temporary Access" and then click the yellow "Check Out" button to read the book.
These books have several unique characteristics to remember:
- You must read the books in your web browser. The full text of Temporary Access books cannot be downloaded. It is only possible to download a single page.
- Checkouts are in one-hour increments and will auto-renew if you are actively viewing the book.
- Rutgers has access to a limited number of copies of each book (equal to the number of physical copies we have). If all copies are checked out, you will not be able to check out the book until a copy is returned.
- Please return books as soon as you are finished with them so others can access the books.
Other Free Resources
OCLC is maintaining a growing list of this freely available content at oc.lc/covid19-partner-content which includes recommended options to access through OCLC services. We will continue to update this list as new information becomes available, so please be sure to bookmark this link and check back often.
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.
National Emergency Library
via Internet Archive. a collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Available from other Universities
Law in the Time of COVID-19
is a free ebook published by Columbia Law School. This volume offers guidance for thinking about some the most pressing legal issues the pandemic has raised. he book does not give legal advice. Although written by professors, this volume is meant to be a reference book, not an academic treatise. The topics range widely and include issues related to human rights, public life and social welfare, private life, and the economy.