LibGuides: Human Rights Research Guide: Secondary Sources

Study Guides

International Human Rights in a Nutshell, 4th ed. (2009)
Thomas Buergenthal.

Research Guides

UN Human Rights Research Guide
ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: Human Rights.
LLRX
Globalex
EISIL

Portals

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
HURISEARCH
Derechos Humanos - Human Rights Links
Human Rights Research and Education Centre: Human Rights Bibliography
UN Practitioner’s Portal on HRBA Programming
EISIL

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Selective Treatises

Brownlie's Documents on Human Rights by Ian Brownlie (Editor); Guy S. Goodwin-Gill; Guy S. Goodwin-Gill (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199564040
Publication Date: 2010-08-20
A great comprehensive resource with the text of basic human rights documents.
A Dictionary of Human Rights by David Robertson (Editor)
ISBN: 185743207X
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
Dictionary of International Human Rights Law by John S. Gibson
ISBN: 081083118X
Publication Date: 1996-06-28
A five volume set which provides country reports and explanations on human rights issues.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights Issues since 1945 by Winston E. Langley
ISBN: 0313301638
Publication Date: 1999-06-30
The Fundamentals of International Human Rights Treaty Law by Bertrand G. Ramcharan
ISBN: 900417608X
Publication Date: 2011-02-14
A Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology by H. Victor Conde; H. Conde
ISBN: 0803215010
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Historical Dictionary of Human Rights and Humanitarian Organizations by Robert F. Gorman; Edward S. Mihalkanin
ISBN: 0810855488
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
Human Rights by Louis Henkin; Sarah Cleveland; Laurence R. Helfer; Gerald L. Neuman; Diane F. Orentlicher
ISBN: 9781599412610
Publication Date: 2009-04-27
Casebook
Human Rights Bibliography
ISBN: 9211003776
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
A five volume set published by the UN. It is useful to locate UN documents through the different indexes. It lists by category, author and subject.
The Human Rights Encyclopedia by James Lewis; Evelyn Dorothy Oliver; Carl Skutsch; Aung S. Kyi (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0765680238
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
Three volume set. It introduces human rights situation of countries in Section I, and explains issues of human rights in Section II.
Human Rights in International Law - Collected Texts (3rd Edition) by Council of Europe Staff (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9789287162816
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Human Rights in the United States by Laura Mars-Proietti (Editor); Rita Cantos Cartwright (Editor)
ISBN: 9781592372904
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
International Human Rights by David S. Weissbrodt; Frank C. Newman
ISBN: 9781422411735
Publication Date: 2009-06-01
International Human Rights by David S. Weissbrodt
Call Number: Camden, K3240.4 .N39 2001
ISBN: 9781583607817
Publication Date: 2001
International Human Rights in a Nutshell by Thomas Buergenthal; Dinah Shelton; David P. Stewart
ISBN: 9780314184801
Publication Date: 2009-10-14
International Human Rights in Context by Henry Steiner; Philip Alston
ISBN: 0198254261
Publication Date: 1996-02-29
International human rights law : a resource guide by Katherine C. Hall
Publication Date: 1993
Provides a great starting point for getting citations to important human rights instruments and documents.
Lexicon of Human Rights by Cédric Viale
ISBN: 9789004165847
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
The Oxford handbook of international human rights law
ISBN: 9780191756672
e-book
Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law by John P. Grant (Editor); J. Craig Barker (Editor)
ISBN: 0379214490
Publication Date: 2003-12-23