Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
last revised June 26th, 2017/ DC
- Abbreviations of Legal Publications (Monash Univ.)
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- Cornell Legal Information Institute Includes Wex, a "collaboratively built, freely available legal dictionary and encyclopedia."
- FindACase.com: a free version of the VersusLaw service, with the same coverage and the same search language as VersusLaw, displaying results in full text but without citations.
- Giveaway Legal Forms: Searchable and browsable database of forms and clauses.
- Google Scholar: select "legal opinions and journals" (or, on the Advanced Search page scroll down to select for searching a particular state's court opinions, or only federal court opinions.) Includes state case law from 1950 forward and federal case law from 1923 forward,
- Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress)
- Hieros Gamos: HG.org
- Internet Law Library
- Internet Legal Resource Group: Public Legal
- Jurist (at Univ.of Pittsburgh) A very current source for legal news, with links to court rulings and other documents; topical pages; and commentaries by law professors.
- Justia VIRTUAL CHASE: Research & Libraries
- LawCite : a citator for cases and law journal articles.
- Law.com Quest. A searchable database of items in the "law.com network" (IncisiveMedia publications, with full-text access for subscribers only) and in the "legal web" (law firm websites and legal blogs).
- The Public Library of Law, portal to free sources of case law, statutes, court rules, regulations, and forms.
- Research Legal Information (LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell) Layperson-oriented compilation of information on various legal topics.
- The Virtual Chase by GenieTyburski (including Legal Research )
- Washlaw Web (Washburn Univ.)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Search and browse freely available journals and articles, some of which are available in different languages.
Google Scholar includes scholarly articles from a wide variety of sources in all fields of research, all languages, all countries, and over all time periods.
Social Sciences and Other Journals
A digital library collecting over five million books digitized by Google Books, the Internet Archive, and libraries at partner institutions
Full-text database of over 2,000 scholarly journals, including legal materials.