Federal Law Research Guide: Administrative Decisions

(See also the Administrative Decisions page at Univ.of Virginia; and the "Agency Guidance Table" the Agency Index page at WashLaw; and the U.S. Federal-Executive collection at LLMC-Digital.)

• Coast Guard Commandant and ALJ Decisions
• Commodity Futures Trading Commission:
  • Dispositions
  • Enforcement Actions
  • Staff Letters (current year, with link to archive from 1995 forward)
  • Opinions and Adjudicatory Orders (current year, with link to archive from 1997 forward)
• GAO Reports and Comptroller General's Decisions:
  • at GPO (1989--)
  • Bid Protest Decisions
  • Appropriations Law Decisions
• Consumer Product Safety Commission, Advisory Opinions
• Department of Agriculture:
  • Agriculture Decisions
  • Forest Service, Final Appeal Decisions (2010-)
• Department of Defense:   Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals, Decisions (2000--)
• Department of Health & Human Services:
  • Department Appeals Board
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (formerly Health Care Financing Administration):
    • Advisory Opinions (Oct.1998--)(note: use IE)
    • Rulings (HCFA, 1995-1998, CMS 2001--)
    • Provider Reimbursement Review Board, Decisions (1998--)
• Department of Homeland Security:
  • Customs and Border Patrol, Bulletins and Decisions (2002 forward)
• Department of Housing & Urban Development:
  • Administrative Law Judge Cases
  • Decisions of the HUD Office of Appeals
• Department of Justice:
  • Administrative decisions under employer sanctions, unfair immigration-related employment practices, and civil penalty document fraud laws
  • Americans with Disabilities Act, Letters of Findings, Core Letters, Technical Assistance Letters, etc.
  • Antitrust Division Business Review Letters (1993--)
  • Attorney General and BIA [Board of Immigration Appeals] Decisions (has decisions from vol.8, 1958 forward)  
  • Executive Office for Immigration Review, Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer (OCAHO), Decisions (1993--) (PDF)
  • Office of Legal Counsel Memoranda & Opinions
  • U.S. Trustee Program: Administrative Decisions Regarding Private Trustees [in Bankruptcy] (1997--)
• Department of Labor:
  • DOL Appeals [Following description based on examination of former site OALJ [Office of Administrative Law Judges] Law Library:](ten case law collections, including ERISA [Employee Retirement Income Security Act] decisions; Board of Contract Appeals Decisions (1996--); Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals (BALCA) En Banc Decisions (1996--); Job Training Partnership Act decisions; Office of Federal Contract Compliance Decisions (1977--); Wage Appeals Board Decisions (1964--); Whistleblower cases; and decisions under various other acts)
  • Benefits Review Board Decisions (Black Lung cases 1989 and Longshore cases 1986--)
  • Employee Benefits Security Administration, Advisory Opinions. (1990--)
  • Employees' Compensation Appeals Board Orders and Decisions
• Dept of the Treasury:
  • Office of Comptroller of the Currency, Interpretations and Actions (May 1996--)
  • Office of Foreign Assets Control, Interpretive Rulings
  • Office of Thrift Supervision, Legal Opinions (1994--)
• Department of Transportation:
  • National Highway Traffic Safety Admin., Interpretation Files
  • Surface Transportation Board Reports (bound volumes, 1996--)
  • Surface Transportation Board, Decisions (Nov.1996--)
• Environmental Protection Agency:  
  • Admin. Law Judge Decisions (Oct.31,1996--)
  • Environmental Appeals Board Opinions (1992---)

• Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
• Federal Aviation Administration Civil Penalty Adjudication
• Federal Communications Commission site includes orders from mid-1994 forward.
• Federal Communications Commission: Orders
• Federal Communications Commission Record (1986--) (University of North Texas Libraries Digital Collections)
• FDIC Decisions on Bank Applications, Merger Decisions
• Federal Election Commission Record

• Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, e-Library (includes opinions, Nov.1994--)
• Federal Labor Relations Authority, Decisions (1979--)
• Federal Maritime Commission, Docket Proceedings
• (includes formal decisions and selected ALJ issuances)

• Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission
• Federal Reserve Board, Legal Interpretations (1996--)
• Federal Service Impasses Panel Decisions (1990--)
• Federal Trade Commission: Formal Actions, Opinions, & Activities, including:
  • Decisions (1969--)
  • Commission Actions--Past (1996-- )
  • Adjudicative Proceedings
  • Advisory & Staff Opinions
• Internal Revenue Bulletin (July 2003--) (includes Revenue Rulings)
• Internal Revenue Bulletin (1996--) (PDFs)
• Merit Systems Protection Board Decisions   (1994--)
• National Labor Relations Board, Decisions & Orders (1935--)
• National Mediation Board Determinations (fiscal year 1998--)
• National Transportation Safety Board final decisions on airman, mechanic, & mariner's certificate appeals (mid-1992---)
• Nuclear Regulatory Commission Decisions
• Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission
• Overseas Private Investment Corporation FOIA page, includes claims determinations and arbitral awards.
• Patent & Trademark Office:
  • Board of Patent Appeals & Interferences, Decisions & Opinions
  • Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, Final Decisions
• Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation Opinion Letters (1974 forward)
• Postal Service Administrative Decisions (1957--) and Purchasing Protest Decisions (1996-2004)
• Railroad Retirement Board, Board Coverage Decisions and Legal Opinions (1997--)
• Securities & Exchange Commission:
  • Commission Opinions (April 5, 1996--)
  • Administrative Law Judge Initial Decisions (May 19, 1960--)
  • Administrative Proceedings (Sept.19,1995--)
• Small Business Administration, Office of Hearings & Appeals Decisions
• Social Security Rulings (1960--) and Acquiescence Rulings (1986--)
• Veterans Administration: Board of Veterans' Appeals, Decisions (1992-- )